Do I need a LICENSE TO DRIVE A MOPED?
Starting January 1, 2015, there will be two different classifications for what will now be known as Motor Driven Cycles. There will be Class A and Class B designations and each will have a different color license plate.

The new law will also raise the maximum speed limit for mopeds and scooters to 35 mph from the current 25 mph limit.

Here are most of the basic requirements for each classification;

Class A Motor Driven Cycles:

These include all mopeds and scooters that have an engine size of 50cc or larger or a designed speed in excess of 35 mph. For example, a moped or scooter with a 49cc engine that has a design speed of 40 mph would be a Class A designation.
• Registration required
• Valid driver’s license with motorcycle endorsement required
• Insurance required
• Helmet required if under 18

Class B Motor Driven Cycles:

These include mopeds and scooters that have an engine size of 49cc or smaller and a design speed of less than 35 mph.
• Registration required
• Operator must be 15 years old or older
• Must possess at least a valid state issued ID card
• Required to obtain a Class B endorsement by passing written exam at the BMV, unless operator has valid learner’s permit or driver’s license.
• No insurance required
• Cannot operate over 35 mph
• No passengers allowed
• No interstate highway or sidewalk operation

Both Class A and B Motor Driven Cycles must have an illuminated headlamp while operating and must be driven near the right-hand edge of roadway unless passing another vehicle or preparing for a left turn.

For more information on Motor Driven Cycle classification requirements, registration fees and frequently asked questions, visit the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicle website or visit the La Porte branch.Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicle website

Show All Answers

1. Is there a CURFEW in La Porte?
2. Is there a 24-HOUR PARKING ordinance?
3. Do I need a LICENSE TO DRIVE A MOPED?
4. When can I light off FIREWORKS IN La Porte?
5. Is there a NOISE ordinance?
6. What is the July 4th Parade "Blanket Ordinance"?
7. Can I shoot a gun in La Porte?
8. Can I have a garage sale?
9. Where can't I park in La Porte?
10. Do I have to shovel snow from my walk?
11. Can I prune or cut down the tree in front of my house?
12. Does my DOG need a LICENSE?
13. Can I let my dog loose in the park?
14. Can I let my dog swim at the beach?
15. Does La Porte have a "Leash Law"?
16. So where can I let my dog run off the leash?
17. Do the parks have operating hours?
18. Can I bring alcohol into a city park?
19. Can I burn my leaves?
20. Is there a rule about garbage cans at the street?