Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
Children who are 14 years of age or under are not allowed to be in a public place after 10:00 pm or before 5:00 am on any day.
Children 15, 16 and 17 years of age cannot be in a public place: - between 12:01 am and 5:00 am on Saturday and Sunday - after 10:00 pm Sunday thru Thursday; or - before 5:00 am Monday thru Friday.
Exceptions to this are a child: - who is accompanied by his/ her parent, guardian or custodian; - who is accompanied by an adult, authorized in writing by his/ her parent, guardian or custodian, which written authorization the child shall have on his/ her person; or
Participating in, going to, or returning from: - lawful employment - a school sanctioned activity; or - a religious event
Violations of the ordinance can result in the child being taken into custody, and an ordinance fine issued to the parent/ guardian/ custodian in the amount of $50. Brochure of Curfew and Loitering laws
The new law will also raise the maximum speed limit for mopeds and scooters to 35 mph from the current 25 mph limit.
Here are most of the basic requirements for each classification;
Class A Motor Driven Cycles:
These include all mopeds and scooters that have an engine size of 50cc or larger or a designed speed in excess of 35 mph. For example, a moped or scooter with a 49cc engine that has a design speed of 40 mph would be a Class A designation. • Registration required • Valid driver’s license with motorcycle endorsement required • Insurance required • Helmet required if under 18
Class B Motor Driven Cycles:
These include mopeds and scooters that have an engine size of 49cc or smaller and a design speed of less than 35 mph. • Registration required • Operator must be 15 years old or older • Must possess at least a valid state issued ID card • Required to obtain a Class B endorsement by passing written exam at the BMV, unless operator has valid learner’s permit or driver’s license. • No insurance required • Cannot operate over 35 mph • No passengers allowed • No interstate highway or sidewalk operation
Both Class A and B Motor Driven Cycles must have an illuminated headlamp while operating and must be driven near the right-hand edge of roadway unless passing another vehicle or preparing for a left turn.
For more information on Motor Driven Cycle classification requirements, registration fees and frequently asked questions, visit the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicle website or visit the La Porte branch. Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicle website
For more information see the linked brochure. Fireworks Brochure
For more information, take a look at this helpful brochure. Noise Ordinance Brochure
Officers and Street Department employees are allowed to remove any items place in the public right of way.
The violation carries a $50 fine.
License tags can be obtained at the Utility Billing Office at City Hall, 801 Michigan Av. (first floor). Fees are $5 for spayed/ neutered dogs and $10 if they are not.
To clear up any confusion, these are not the same tags issued by your veterinarian. The tags issued by your vet are for proof of rabies vaccination, which is also required by state law for pets over 3 months of age.
Questions about pet registration can be directed to La Porte Police Animal Control Officer, Chuck Games, at (219) 362-9446, Ext. 305, or the City of La Porte Clerk-Treasurer's Office (219) 362-9512.
The La Porte Solid Waste District handles curbside recycling for the entire county. They provide the large blue bin, and every 2 weeks pickup occurs. Click the link for more info, or drop in or call.
Solid Waste District of La Porte County 2857 West State Road 2, Suite E La Porte, Indiana 46350
Phone: (219)326-0014 •Toll Free: 1-800-483-7700 •Fax: (219)326-5310•Office Hours: 8 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday Program details